Your Wine Cellar Needs Another Wine Rack!

May 20, 2011

KTW #0611

Here is another floor standing wine rack made from the Khaya (known also as African Mahogany). It’s a 6 X 6, six bottles wide and six racks tall, for three cases worth. The dimensions are 28″ x 15 1/2″ x 42″ tall.

Below: I have glued up contrasting edge band material and crosscut a board, then folded the board back on itself at the cut and glued it up for the field of the top.

There is a woodworking blog that I follow…

http://larrysworkshop.wordpress.com/

Lazy Larry has some very cool ideas about laminating different woods and creating interesting 3D patterns. I decided to start simply and use some of his basic ideas to create my table tops. Above: you see I have ripped some thin strips of White Oak from my dwindling stash that was dried from a fallen tree over on SW Crestwood Lane. I sandwiched a wider strip of Black Walnut, then glued them up with a wide strip of Khaya to form the edge band.

I’m not a very good photographer. I’m of the… take tons of pics… and hope some turn out OK, school of photography. Most of the time. I’m paying attention to what I’m trying to do in the shop, and forget to take shots as I go along in the process of building. Too many times I have stopped to take a photo, been side tracked, only to make mistakes because I forget what I’m doing. I hate that.

Next I milled up the board in the middle here for the legs, rack parts, carcase and drawers…

If I actually took photos of all the individual steps I go through, there would be hundreds of pictures. Unless you are into woodworking, it would be overkill, but I’m just trying to illustrate how many steps there are to making these things… how many steps there are for potential mistakes!

With every new project, I try to refine my ideas and processes, to be faster and still have a shot at quality.

Many woodworkers hate the finishing process. Some do great joinery only to apply bad finishes. I actually like applying finishes and with each piece, I add to my knowledge and experience. Still, it’s like shooting dice and no matter how hard you try there are potential problems. The experts know how to avoid problems and how to fix mistakes and any pitfalls that might occur. Most finishing materials are perishable products and you get one shot at it.  Quality finishes are like shooting at a moving target… it’s difficult but not impossible.

Applying a finish is the payoff for me. After I have milled all the parts cleanly and glued everything up square and true, then sanded like crazy… seeing the grain pop out is like opening a present.

Lazy Larry’s lamination idea turned out really cool. I like it. I love the little ripples or “quilting” in the Black Walnut feature strip. There could be so many variations on this concept, I can hardly wait to try some more complex ideas.

More to follow…

One Response to “Your Wine Cellar Needs Another Wine Rack!”


  1. Really like the way the laminations have come out. Fantastic!


Leave a comment